Gluten Free Hersheys Kisses

Here is another great article from Jane Anderson of About.com in which she talks about gluten free Hershey’s Kisses. The last bag of them at our house were the carmel filled kisses and now I see they are not gluten free. Thankfully I ate all of them and my spouse didn’t get a chance to poison herself with them. Here is an excerpt from the article:

Plain milk chocolate Hershey’s kisses are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, according to Hershey’s.That includes the traditional silver-wrapped Hershey’s kisses, plus the plain milk chocolate kisses wrapped in colored foil that are sold for holidays such as Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Christmas. It also includes the plain milk chocolate Hershey’s kisses sold in plastic candy canes at holiday time.

However, none of the other Hershey’s kisses products are gluten-free. That includes milk chocolate kisses with almonds, milk chocolate kisses filled with caramel, dark chocolate kisses (either plain or filled with mint truffle), pumpkin spice kisses, AirDelight kisses, Hugs kisses (the striped varieties), candy cane-flavored kisses, and kisses filled with cherry cordial cream. Also, the large Hershey’s kiss products — the 7 oz., 5 oz. and 1.45 oz. kisses — are not considered gluten-free either, according to the company.

This is another lesson for us. READ the labels on everything, even if you have read it before. Ingredients change from time to time and gluten appears in foods that you would never suspect. One example that I found is Wal-Mart frozen corn. We love the gluten free Hershey’s Kisses but need to pay better attention to the flavors.




Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.